2013 brochure

How You Can Help the Library Extend Medical Knowledge

You can be a part of the Friends' mission to help educate the health, corporate, and public communities about NIH's many vital research initiatives. If you or your company can help to support and expand the Library's efforts by providing sponsorship and other charitable donations for NIH MedlinePlus magazine's publication and distribution, many more thousands of Americans will gain valuable, free access to the world's best online medical library, www.medlineplus.gov.

Learn more about supportership or call (202) 679-9930. Written correspondence may be sent to FNLM, 4720 Montgomery Lane Suite 500 Bethesda, MD 20814.

The Michael E. DeBakey Library Services Outreach Award
Michael E. DeBakey

The Michael E. DeBakey Library Services Outreach Award was established in the early 1990s in horor of Dr. DeBakey, to recognize outstanding service and contributions to rural and underserved communities by a practicing health sciences librarian. The award is presented annually by the Friends of the National Library of Medicine.

Download 2015 Nomination Form
  • Nominees must be currently employed as a health sciences librarian and have worked in such a position for at least five years immediately preceding the award.
  • Nominations may be made for contributions by the librarian as demonstrated by excellence and achievement in leadership, publications, teaching, research, special projects, or any combination of these.
  • Nomination must be made in writing and include the following information:
    1. Official nomination form
    2. Five page description of the nominee's achievements
    3. Current resume or curriculum vitae
    4. Additional information (no more than 5 pages double-spaced) that would assist the jury in the evaluation of the nomination and selection of the recipient
  • Self-nominations are accepted and encouraged. Nominations must be received by June 1, via email, fax, or mail at the following address:
    Friends of the National Library of Medicine
    4720 Montgomery Lane, Suite 500
    Bethesda, MD 20814
  • or send to ronica.lu@fnlm.org

Why does this award carry Dr. DeBakey's name?

Dr. DeBakey was influential in the origins of the National Library of Medicine. Congress transferred the Armed Forces Medical Library to the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare in 1956. Dr. DeBakey was elected chair of the Founding Board of Regents and he chaired President Johnson's Commission on Heart Disease, Cancer and Stroke. One outcome from this august body was the passage of the Medical Library Assistance Act and the creation of the Regional Medical Library Network, now the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, in the 1960s.

He was a member of the original NLM Long Range Planning Panel for Building and Organizing the Library's Collection in 1986 and chaired the Outreach Long Range Planning Panel in 1989. He testified many times before Congress on behalf of NLM. In 1997 he told the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services about the potential benefits of offering free access to Medline and also recommended that the library broaden the scope of its databases to include authoriative health information for the public. This became the foundation for MedlinePlus.

The impetus of his interest and concern for NLM and all libraries helped make great resources available to all medical libraries. That is why we are proud that the Outreach Award is named for Michael E. DeBakey.

For further reading about the life and career of Dr. DeBakey, see the following articles:

  • Smith KA. Laws, Leaders, and legends of the modern National Library of Medicine.
    J Med Libr Assoc. 2008 April: 96(2): 121-133.
  • DeBakey ME. The National Library of Medicine; evolution of a premier information center. JAMA.
    1991 September: 266(9):1252-1258.

The Awardee will be honored at the FNLM Annual Awards Gala on September 29, 2015

DeBakey Award Winners

The following individuals have won the prestigious Michael E. DeBakey Library Services Outreach Award:

  • 2014 | Patricia Bradley, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque , NM
  • 2013 | Richard Wallace, East Tennessee State University, Johnson City, TN
  • 2012 | Anna Schnitzer, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
  • 2011 | Ann Duesing, University of Virginia's College at Wise, Wise, VA
  • 2010 | Rita Smith, Mercer University Medical Library, Macon, GA
  • 2009 | Greysi Reyna, Ramirez Library, Regional Academic Health Center, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, TX
  • 2008 | Ellen Howard, University of Washington, Seattle, WA
  • 2007 | Ada Seltzer, Rowland Medical Library, University of Mississippi Medical Center, Jackson, MS
  • 2000 | Janet E. Minnerath, University of Oklahoma, Tulsa, OK
  • 1999 | Kathleen M. McCloskey, Eccles Health Sciences Library, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT
  • 1998 | Clinton M. (Marty) Thompson, Jr., Bird Health Sciences Library, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, Oklahoma City, OK
  • 1997 | Donna P. Johnson, Library/Media, Allina Health System, Minneapolis, MN
  • 1996 | Cheryl F. Smith, Medical Libary, University Medical Center, LaFayette, LA
  • 1995 | Phyllis Gillikin, Northwest AHEC Library at Hickory, Catawba Memorial Hospital, Hickory, NC
  • 1994 | Lorraine Ettl, Harley E. French Library of the Health Sciences, University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, ND
  • 1993 | Mary Jo Dwyer, Dolph Brisco, Jr. Library, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, TX